Hazel, Remmington, Goldendoodles and Dog Law!

People who know me, know that I love cats. My family has three: Hazel, Toby and Remmington. Hazel was adopted from a farm in Maine, Toby is from  Cabot Vermont farm and Remmington is from Tunbridge.

This afternoon, walking across the quad, I saw the cutest puppy: a goldendoodle! I never thought I would want to get a dog, but this goldendoodle was so fluffy and goofy looking, it changed my mind. Naturally, since I work in a law library I wanted to explore the legal ramifications of dog ownership. In JULIEN, I did a keyword search for “dog law” and found some helpful books.

“Dog Law: A plain-English legal guide for dog owners and their neighbors” is a comprehensive book about dog ownership. The book has information on barking dogs, traveling with dogs and dog bites. There is even a section on “landlords and dogs” with some helpful hints for convincing a skeptical landlord.

Another interesting book, “Unleashed Fury: The Political Struggle for Dog-Friendly Parks” explores the controversy of leash-free dogs in public spaces. This could be a helpful resource given the lack of dog parks in the area.

I don’t think now is the best time to get a goldendoodle, but perhaps someday down the road.The legal responsibility of dog ownership just seems like too much for me now.

🙂 Heidi

