Renowned for our Environmental Law programs, the Cornell library continues seeking new resources to add to our collection. Recently, we subscribed to a new database by Proquest called Agricultural & Environmental Science Database. As its name indicates, this database contains full-text and index articles on agricultural research and allied disciplines including: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences.
Subject areas include:
• Agricultural economics
• Agricultural entomology
• Agricultural history
• Agriculture (general)
• Agriculture engineering
• Agriculture products
• Air pollution
• Animal sciences
• Control technologies
• Endangered species
• Environmental design
• Environmental education
• Environmental law and policy
• Environmental safety
• Geophysical and climate change
• Global warming
• International environmental policy
• Land use and pollution
• Marine pollution
• Noise pollution
• Population studies
• Radiological contamination
• Resource management
• Solid and toxic waste
• Sustainable development
• Toxicological effects
• Waste management
• Water pollution
• Wildlife / biodiversity
This database can be accessed through the A-Z Database List. To learn more about this resource and searching techniques, check out this research guide.
Electronic Resources & Technology Librarian,
Chenfang Yang, email@example.com, 802-831-1445
With a wealth of environmental courses to select this summer, it is noteworthy that our library subscribe to two environmental related databases — Environment Complete and GreenFILE. These two databases are both full-text databases by EBSCO.
Environment Complete is a full text academic journal articles on environmental subjects in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem, energy, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, renewable energy sources and so on.
GreenFILE provides open access (free!) articles covering the human impact on the environment. It covers content about the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments as well as what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Both databases can be accessed through VLS library portal site: http://portal.vermontlaw.edu/Library/Pages/Databases-A-Z.aspx (VLS login required)
Don’t hesitate to ask a reference librarian if you need assistance conducting the searches.
Librarians at our Library regularly look out for prospective online resources that can better assist with the learning and researching. We are very happy to share that we just added another great resource for statistical researches. Statistical Abstract of the United States has always been a popular reference tool behind every reference desk. At VLS library, we have the print copy of this reference book. And now we just added the online version at a minimal price to enable our users to research on their laptops, wherever they are whenever they want. Published annually by the federal government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps the world. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. Here you’ll find answers to questions such as “How much corn is grown in Iowa?”, or “What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?”.
You can browse or search the Statistical Abstract. For more searching tips, check out the LibGuide by Proquest on Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Happy researching! Let us know what you think of this new database! Find us at firstname.lastname@example.org.